My weight loss story.

Today I have something a little different for you. While I often struggle with which shade of lipstick I’m going to wear I have faced a bigger struggle in my life, and that’s my weight.
Being over weight wasn’t anything new to me, I grew up with a chef for a father and as a child food represented comfort and love and not nutrition. I spent all my time that I wasn’t in school at my father’s restaurant and I basically would eat all day. It only got worse when I moved out of my parents house at 18 because I was constantly looking for that comfort in food and ironically I never learned how to cook for myself. On top of that I was newly married at 21 and moving far away from my family so the stress led me right into food oblivion.
I never realized how bad it had gotten until I got pregnant with my first child when I was 25. I was at high risk for diabetes but for some reason that wasn’t enough to scare me. I didn’t truly see the consequences of my poor choices until mothers day 2010. My mother snapped a shot of me and I was absolutely mortified (to this day I still use that picture as my before shot as you will see below.). I had it.
I started taking regular fitness classes and after a month I didn’t feel any different then it clicked, change how I eat! Changing my eating habits was the hardest part for me because I had to completely change the way I see food, and that’s where myfitnesspal came in.
Myfitnesspal.com was a life saver, literally. It kept track of all my calories and weight loss as well as give me tips and a ton of support, best of all it was free. I went from eating cheese omelets with bacon and toast everyday to eating egg whites and turkey sausage. Once I had the tools I felt unstoppable. Then comes the weight loss. In a little under a year I loss close to 70lbs (I don’t know the exact number because I was afraid to step on the scale for the first couple months.)
As great as I felt sadly it didn’t last.
I became pregnant with my daughter Nathalie in 2011 and this time I was determined to stay healthy and really maintain my weight but that wasn’t in the cards for me. A few months into the pregnancy I was told that my child wasn’t getting any nutrients and could be in danger so I threw caution to the wind and ate, and ate and ate and I DON’T REGRET IT AT ALL. As much as it sucked to have to take giant steps back, my kids come first.
So here I am a year later. I gained about 30lbs back, so I’m not where I was but I’m nowhere near where I started, so that keeps me hopeful. Weight loss really is a life long struggle and I do not believe in fad diets or quick fixes, you have to change your view on food completely and really start making better choices. Inspiration? My David and Nathalie. It is so important to me that my choices inspire their good choices.
I hope you enjoyed my story, and it really is never ending. Leave me some love below if you’ve had similar struggles or are looking to get healthy because I am a true believer in support. So go forth and make smart choices (don’t get my wrong I do from time to time get down with a big burger but I usually pair it with a nice long bike session!)

Happy Blending!

Kate

 

Leave a Reply

